Westmoreland News

Follow Us On:

5th grade is ready to soar!

Posted on Wednesday, June 19, 2013 at 10:25 am

On Monday, June 3rd, proud parents, teachers, and administrators celebrated the achievements of Washington District Elementary 5th graders in their annual promotion and awards ceremony. Mr. James Cook, Assistant Superintendent, and Principal, Sandy Herdle, delivered words of encouragement to the class.
Fifth grade teachers, Mrs. Carson, Mr. McMonagle, and Mrs. Markwith, presented awards for citizenship, attendance, and academics.  Mrs. Bibbens, musical director, led the 5th graders as they shared a wonderful selection, “Speak Life.”  Later in the program, Capria Tate sang a solo version of “I Believe I Can Fly.”
Ms. Campbell presented Art awards to Kody Chatham, Victoria Thompson, Adrianna Carter, Kaylee Taylor, Reagan Barker, Alicia Turner, Jade Fisher, Katelyn Kirtley, and Stephen Filkoski.
Mrs. Scherm announced that Shane McNeil had earned the highest number of Accelerated Reader points for the year and presented him with a Barnes & Noble gift card.
Mrs. Coates and Ms. Campbell announced winners at the state level for Scenario Writing, who were Alicia Turner, Michael Perrigan, and Brianna Bartley.

Students who earned a 600 on their SOL tests were also recognized including:
Andres Murillo – History; Katelyn Kirtley – Writing; David Lemke – History & Writing; Michael Perrigan – History, Science, Writing and Reading; Alicia Turner – Reading & History; Sabrina Wilson – Writing; and Daniel Berry – History.
Students being promoted to Montross Middle School are:
Danielle Alford, Brady Anderson, Reagan Barker, Brianna Bartley, Nathan Bently, Daniel Berry, Claudia Cardoza, Adrianna Carter, Kody Chatham, Mya Coleman, Michael Doerr, Rodnay Eddings, Savanah Ess, Alexandra Elverson, Stephen Filkoski, Jade Fisher, Ashanti Johnson, Brian Johnson, Deiondre Johnson, Myreon Johnson, Tyrese Johnson, Anthony Jones, Cheyenne Jones, Garrett Jones, Jasmine Knell, Katelyn Kirtley, Skylar Knapp, Mason Lee, David Lemke, Timothy Lohr, Henry Long, Adrian Lopez, Shane McNeill, Andres Murillo, Guadalupe Murillo-Lopez, Anayeli Ochoa, Valentine Orozco, Michael Perrigan, Magali Rodriguez, Bryson Rosario, Zoe Sanborn, Justin Slater, Christopher Streett, Capria Tate, Kaylee Taylor, Victoria Thompson, Anthony Trejo, Alicia Turner, Kenneth Turner Jr., Yoselin Valencia-Ramos, Jo’mon West, Alan Worrell, Sabrina Wilson and Aniyah Wise.