Late summer is the perfect time to visit Stratford Hall. Restoration continues both inside the Great House and around the surrounding landscape. As part of the objective to portray four generations of the Lee family who called Stratford home, the Parlor has been completely restored to 1795, when Light Horse Harry Lee, General Washington’s trusted military colleague and Robert’s father, was the master of the house. The Dining Room has been taken back to the period of 1817, the final generation of Lee family ownership. Restoration of the Bed Chamber is now underway. And throughout the Great House one will see how the Lees adapted to the summer season in the 18th-century.
To usher in late summer, Stratford Hall is announcing several changes effective August 1, 2017:
• Changes have been made to admission fees for adults and children. For full pricing details, please visit the Stratford Hall website or call the main office to speak with a representative.
• Access to the Potomac overlook, beach, gristmill and mill pond area will be extended to 5 p.m. through the end of September. This will also allow more time on the hiking trails that run through the area.
• For the month of August, a 15 percent discount is being offered on all rooms in the Cheek and Astor Guest Houses. The lodging rate includes a Grounds Pass and continental breakfast.
“We hope everyone who has not been to Stratford in a while will take this opportunity to visit and see the restoration efforts and other changes that might not have been present during a previous visit,” said John Bacon, President of Stratford Hall. “And we invite new, first-time visitors to experience all that Stratford has to offer including our full schedule of events, dining and lodging. A late summer visit will stay with you, in ways that will surprise and delight.”
For more information on all activities at Stratford Hall, visit www.StratfordHall.org or call 804-493-8038.