Westmoreland News

Follow Us On:

Foster highlights all-district awards

Posted on Monday, November 12, 2012 at 4:14 pm

Running back TreVaughn Davis, of Lancaster, and quarterback Dominek Broaddus and linebacker Rahiem Rolling, both of Essex, have been named players of the year for 2012 the Northern Neck District.

Coaches John Fulks (D-2) of Essex and Scott Foster (D-1), of Colonial Beach, were also named coaches of the year.

Scott Foster (D-1), of Colonial Beach, was named coach of the year after leading the Drifters to an overall record of 6-4, 3-2 in district.

Fulks has led the Essex Trojans to an overall record of 11-0 thus far and in the district 5-0 followed by Foster leading the Drifters to an overall record of 6-4, 3-2 in district. Both coaches also led their teams into the VHSL Eastern Sectional Playoffs and won both their respective first rounds last weekend.

The following students were named to the all-district teams:

Offense 1st Team: Colonial Beach’s senior guard Jason Vickery, senior running back Dion Gonzalez and sophomore utility player Nick Graves; Essex’s sophomore quarterback Dominek Broaddus, senior running back Rahiem Rolling, senior center Ray Champion, senior tackle Calvin Carey, receivers Dartanious Jones (junior) and Keith Bundy (senior); Lancaster’s senior guard Kai Antonio and senior running back TreVaughn Davis; Northumberland’s senior receiver Kyle Elmore; Rappahannock’s senior tackle Brandon Morris and senior tight end/kicker Aaron Rock; and Washington & Lee’s senior kick returner Kwame Gray.

Offense 2nd Team: Colonial Beach’s tackle Aaron Fisher; Essex’s senior guard Deiondre Dancy, junior receiver Dre Baylor and senior kicker Jason Compton; Lancaster’s junior tackle Devonte Haskins, senior tight end Taj Smith and senior quarterback Kedrick Lee; Northumberland’s junior receiver Wesley Jackson; Rappahannock’s senior center DeAndre Wood, senior receiver Tylek Sorrell and senior running back Derrick Sumiel; and Washington & Lee’s senior guard Juandre Wise, senior running backs Kwame Gray and Dexter Thompson.

Defense 1st Team: Colonial Beach’s sophomore linebacker DezJohn Parker and senior defensive back Tim McDowney; Essex’s senior defensive end Alonzo Tompkins, senior defensive linemen Deiondre Dancy and Calvin Carey, senior linebackers Rahiem Rolling and Tyrell Ware, and sophomore defensive back Sterling Hammond; Lancaster’s defensive end Kai Antonio; Rappahannock’s sophomore defensive lineman Andre Brown, senior defensive back Tylek Sorrell and punter Aaron Rock; and Washington & Lee’s sophomore defensive lineman Kenneth Ashdown, junior linebacker Milan Bullock and senior defensive back Kwame Gray.

Defense 2nd Team: Colonial Beach’s sophomore defensive end Carter Foster, defensive linemen Brandon Phillips (junior) and Jason Vickery (senior); Essex’s defensive back Jamar Kelly; Lancaster’s junior defensive end Devonte Haskins; Northumberland’s junior linebacker Dakota Galves, senior defensive backs Kyle Elmore and Aaron Lewis; Rappahannock’s freshman defensive lineman Javon Gillis, senior linebacker Tyler Spear and junior defensive back Marquise Lanier; and Washington & Lee’s sophomore defensive lineman Markeyse Thompson, senior linebacker Juandre Wise, junior linebacker Kaleel Pratt and junior punter Alex Lane.