Westmoreland News

Follow Us On:

Season nailed in the bullseye

Posted on Wednesday, April 17, 2013 at 11:59 pm


The Montross BullShooters (top photo) who were crowned regular season champions and tournament runner-ups. From left, Wayne Fowler, Bob Snyder Jr., Kenny Jones and league MVP Bill Marker. Not pictured are Clint Elkins and DJ Payne; The Montross Moose Lodge team (pictured below) placed second in the regular season and were crowned tournament champions. From left, John Madison, Mike Painter, Randolph Jones, Chris “Pork Chop” Saulnier, Paul Compton, and David Jones. Not pictured are Teresa Edwards and Billy Taylor.

On March 16, the Northern Neck Dart Association (NNDA) concluded its 2012-2013 season with their annual awards banquet at the Montross Moose Lodge.  An awesome feast was prepared by NNDA League President Chris “Pork Chop” Saulnier and his wife Amanda. Great job, guys, and thanks again to all those who helped make this year’s banquet a huge success!

Congratulations to the Montross Moose Lodge Dart Team of Paul Compton, Teresa Edwards, David Jones, Randolph Jones, John Madison, Mike Painter, Pork Chop, and Billy Taylor for once again finishing in second place for the regular season and then winning the season-ending tournament.

Congratulations also to the Montross BullShooters team of Clint Elkins, Wayne Fowler, Kenny Jones, Bill Marker, DJ Payne, and Bob Snyder Jr. for repeating as regular season champions and finishing second in the season-ending tournament

Jeremy McLaughlin, of Callao Moose Lodge, was named rookie of the year, followed by Ragged Pointers’ Tom Jean named the most improved player and AC’s Café & Sports Grill’s Pete Craig named the Herb Barnes Sportsmanship Award.   Winners of these awards are determined by all the members of the dart league, who each vote for who they think is the most deserving players.

The NNDA Board of Directors would again like to thank all of the league members and sponsors for another hugely successful dart season, and we look forward to doing it all again next year.

If anyone would like more info about playing in or forming a team in the NNDA next season, please contact Bill Marker, the NNDA League Secretary, at 540-850-5461.


Individual “Quality Point” awards were presented for various dart statistics accumulated by the players throughout the regular season, and the winners are as follows: 9-Mark Awards—Chris “Pork Chop” Saulnier, Mike Painter, and Don Henderson; Ton-80 Awards—Breezy Harding, Randy Harding, Tom Jean and Kenny Jones; Most Diddles Won (tie): Bill Marker and Bob Snyder Jr. with 52; Most Tons or higher: Bob Snyder Jr. with 38; Most 5-Marks or higher—Chris “Pork Chop” Saulnier – 56; Mot 3-Bulls or Higher—John Madison with 20; Most Outs—Bob Snyder Jr. with 75; High Double-In—Paul Compton with 146; High Double Out—Randy Harding with 127; League MVP—Bill Marker with 105 wins