Westmoreland News

Follow Us On:

Seniors to lace once more

Posted on Tuesday, March 5, 2013 at 8:44 pm

Selected senior basketball players from the Tidewater and Northern Neck District will suit up one more time before bidding high school basketball farewell.

On March 16, the 15th annual NorLan Shrine Northern Neck-Tidewater District All-Star Games will be held at Lancaster High School. The girls game will begin at 6 p.m. with the seniors from the Northern Neck

Karley Inscoe and Caneishia Fulcher were named the Region A Division 1’s co-mvps last Saturday. The two are expected to play their final game together on March 16.

District facing those from the Tidewater. The boys game will follow at 7:30 p.m. Proceeds from the night will go to the Shriners.

Highlighting this year’s rosters include the Northern Neck’s players of the year Shamerah Taylor and Tyler Colding, of Lancaster, and all district team members Kyle Elmore, Aaron Lewis and Nia Jones, of Northumberland; Essex’s  Alonzo Tompkins; and Colonial Beach’s Caneishia Fulcher and Karley Inscoe.

Joining the Northern Neck Boys’ Team is Washington & Lee’s Kwame Gray and Calvin Harris, Lancaster’s Taj Smith and Jovante Smith, Northumberland’s Keith Bryant and Rappahannock’s DeShawn Thompson. They will be coached by Jonathan Parker and Chase Davidson of Colonial Beach.

Lancaster’s Aleyah Davenport will join the girls’ Northern Neck team followed by teammate Arkasia Sutton, Essex’s Audasia Kelly, Northumberland’s Kayla Leland, Washington & Lee’s Kendawanna Fulcher and Rappahannock’s Kelsey Berhalter and Lasheonia Smith. The team will be coached by Joanne Webb-Fary of Lancaster and Marcus Fergunson.

The Tidewater will send four All Region team members to compete with the Northern Neck District led by Middlesex’s Rhyeem Lockley, King William’s Freeman McPherson and Mathews’s Josh Wilson and Shelby Ware.

West Point’s Hannah Loftis and Loren Smith will join the girls’ Tidewater Team followed by King William’s Amy Thomas, Katie Byrd, Crystal Fortune and Shayla Johnson, Middlesex’s Shannon Bristow and Mathews’s Jessie Nelson and Taylor Beaton. The team will be coached by Alley Bridge and Tommy Erikson, of Mathews.

And joining the boys team this year will be King & Queen’s JJ Mercer and Mark Noel, King William’s Vontrell Shurlock, Jason Gresham, Ryan Walter and Kevin Waller, West Point’s Martin Doyal, Jermaine Taylor and Gabriel Lee and Middlesex’s J.D. Diggs. The team is coached by Joe Harper and Marvin Fallin of King William.