Westmoreland News

Follow Us On:

Sheriff’s Institute elects new officers

Posted on Wednesday, June 26, 2013 at 6:00 pm

The members of the Virginia Sheriffs’ Institute elected new officers for 2013-2014. Elected to the Virginia Sheriffs’ Institute Board of Directors as Board Members and Officers were as follows: Board Members: Sheriff James R. Edwards, Jr., Greensville County; Sheriff Thomas Jones, Charlotte County; Sheriff Michael S. Mondul, City of Danville; and Sheriff Shannon B. Zeman, Floyd County. Treasurer, Javier J. Smith, Charles City County; Secretary, Sheriff C.O. Balderson, Westmoreland County; Vice-President, Anthony W. Roper, Clarke County; and President, Sheriff Steven L. Dye, Russell County.
The Virginia Sheriffs’ Institute is a 501 (c) (3) charitable organization established by Virginia sheriffs to provide training and education to the members of the Institute including the sheriffs and deputy sheriffs across Virginia on issues relating to management, crime prevention and other areas of public safety. The Virginia Sheriffs’ Institute also awards scholarships to young people across Virginia seeking an education in criminal justice while attending Virginia colleges or universities. The sheriffs were elected to their respective offices at the annual meeting of the Virginia Sheriffs’ Institute which was attended by more than two hundred and sixty (240) sheriffs and deputy sheriffs across Virginia. The Virginia Sheriffs’ Institute currently has some eighteen thousand (18,000) citizen associate members that support the activities of the Virginia Sheriffs’ Institute.
“The sheriffs serving on the board and as officers of the Virginia Sheriffs’ Institute command the deepest respect from their peers from across the Commonwealth.” said John W. Jones, Executive Director of the Virginia Sheriffs’ Institute. “It speaks very highly of a sheriff to have been elected to the Board of Directors and as an Officer of the Virginia Sheriffs’ Institute,” according to Jones.
The term for service for the respective sheriffs serving on the Board of the Virginia Sheriffs’ Institute or as an officer is for one year.